Liquor Store Tour

A forum to post your thoughts about the art and beauty of getting loaded.

Moderators: Oggar, Badfellow, Mr Boozificator, Artful Drunktective, mistah willies, NYDingbat, oettinger, Judge

wonder_recorded
Tippler
Tippler

Liquor Store Tour

Post by wonder_recorded »

Hello, fine folks. I'm relatively new to alcohol and while I've had a few beers and wines, I've been curious about tasting high proof spirits. I've had a shot of this and that, but there are so many varieties, where do I even start?

Here is my idea: buy about $100 worth of minis (50ml) and try to sample as wide a variety as possible. Around here, the price ranges from $0.50 - $5.00/ea. so I could get 20 top-shelf minis or 200 bottom-shelf. Take me on a tour of a liquor store, pick out which types of drinks (and brands) you would get in order to sample the widest variety of drinks, and also your favorites of course. Cocktail recipes that you would then use these in, if any, would also be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Palinka (RIP)

Re: Liquor Store Tour

Post by Palinka (RIP) »

I am pretty sure that you can find someone in San Jose to teach you the ropes, so to speak. Go to, be careful, and good luck.
"If I had all the money that I've spent on drink, I'd spend it on drink!"
"The trouble with internet quotes is that one can never be sure if they are genuine." - Abraham Lincoln
Kindly listen to this, please.
ドロンケン
ImageImage

Jiggers McCoy
Inebriate Savant
Inebriate Savant

Post by Jiggers McCoy »

Welcome aboard. I'll have a pint of Evan and a pitcher of Sierra Nevada Pale Ale.

I wouldn't recommend the airplane bottle thing. I may be crazy, but I think stuff tastes different from them.